Back to All Events

Special Consensus

Formed in the Chicago area in 1975, The Special Consensus is a four-person acoustic bluegrass band with a repertoire that features traditional bluegrass standards, original compositions by band members and professional songwriters, and songs from other musical genres performed in the bluegrass format. The band has released 17 recordings and has appeared on numerous National Public Radio programs and cable television shows, including The Nashville Network and the Grand Ole Opry at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee.

International tours have brought the band to Canada, Europe, South America, Ireland and the United Kingdom. The Special C has appeared in concert with symphony orchestras nationwide and has brought an informative in-school presentation to schools nationally and internationally since 1984.

Band leader/banjo player Greg Cahill is the former President/Board Chair of the Nashville-based International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) and the former Board Chair of the Nashville-based Foundation for Bluegrass Music. He was awarded the prestigious IBMA Distinguished Achievement Award in 2011. The 2012 band release Scratch Gravel Road (Compass Records) was GRAMMY nominated for Best Bluegrass Album.  Other band members include guitarist Rick Faris, bass player Dan Eubanks, and mandolin player Nick Dumas.

“Country Boy: A Bluegrass Tribute to John Denver” (the band’s 17th recording, released by Compass Records in March of 2014) was honored in October 2014 by the International Bluegrass Music Association with two major awards:  Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year for “Thank God I’m A Country Boy” and Recorded Event of the Year for “Wild Montana Skies”.  

Special Consensus proudly celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2015.  

Earlier Event: April 16
Later Event: April 24
A Social for Scout